Meditation Monday: The Novice

As a wife and mommy, sometimes I get so caught up with caring for my baby and husband, managing the house, running errands, handling administrative tasks and learning to cook (stay tuned for that post) that I totally forget about me.  Sometimes I even forget to eat.  C’mon now, that’s just wrong.  I know that I need to make some changes to lead a more healthy and positive lifestyle.  Hey, what can I say, I’m a work in progress.  I’d like to start by incorporating meditation into my daily routine.  My life isn’t hectic per se, but some days the dog and baby are crying in unison, my husband can’t find his wallet before work, the eggs are burning on the stove and I very well may have put my undies on inside out.  Every time I see people meditating I think of how peaceful they must feel and how I could use some of that peace in my life.

What is meditation?

There isn’t a consensus as to the definition of meditation, however many sources state that meditation is an awareness, a process to calm our minds; a training of the mind to develop clarity and concentration.  Meditation can be connected to religion, spirituality or simply used as a mindfulness practice.

So here are the basics of meditation:

  1. Find a quiet place.
  2. Get comfortable.  It doesn’t matter if you are lying on the floor surrounded by Legos or sitting in your car during your lunch break; clasping your hands or resting them at your sides.
  3. Close your eyes.
  4. Try to clear your mind.  I know this one is difficult, but it will get better with practice.

Sounds simple enough right?  Ok, now join me for a short introduction to guided meditation.  Please comment below and let me know about your experience!

 

Comment Here! C'mon, whatcha thinking?

